ADVERTISEMENT

Why others rebuild, Leach continues to win (Arizona article)....

It amazes me how everyone thinks CML is short term. Even in this article, which has NOTHING to do with CML but actually about how AZ looks too short term... they backhandedly, somehow, put in there that CML is leaving... While at the same time saying CML likes to stick around and "build", not "rebuild".
I swear, everyone just can't fathom that Pullman is a destination. So I shall refer to CML's introduction to WSU back in 2011.

"People ask me Why Washington State? Once I get past thinking in the back of my mind, 'Well that's a stupid question...'"

"I've never been a big opening statement guy. I always find the media asks what they want anyway."

Like I've consistently said, he's going to leave if he wants to. But just because WSU has had some success, that's his cue to bolt?! He didn't "bolt" from TT. I swear, all of this is a thought process that is a bit too cookie cutter. "Well, if I was a coach, I'd leave!" Have you met Leach?! The dude that relishes his memories in Wyoming? The guy that has ONLY coached at small outpost style schools his whole career, except his short stint at Okie?
Also, I think some of this is in HOPES that he leaves. If WSU becomes a perennial? Pac12 will have it's head on the bottom and their feet on the top. They won't know what to do with that. Their world will be upside down.

A good read, and another reminder of why we should be grateful to have Leach.

WSU has been the best kept secret on the West Coast.

Unequaled college town. Unequaled student experience.

WSU has “it.”

The last thing some of these peer institutions want is to have to compete with anyone. Rather than get their act together and be better, they put their energy into pulling others down. Same could be said for their media markets.