ADVERTISEMENT

Could Mike Leach's support of President Trump help WSU football financially?

PeteTheChop

Hall Of Fame
May 25, 2005
GOP_2016_Trump.JPG_t1140.jpg

They appeared on either Brand X or Brand Y last week, but Loyal Coug took the time to share with CougZone regulars Coach Leach's recent remarks praising America's 45th president.

Do I think America is better with Donald Trump? Yeah, I do, and I think it's better by a lot."
— Mike Leach, June 2018

I'm not a political expert by any measure, so I'll leave it to the knowledgeable posters here to judge the accuracy of CML's proclamation.

BUT the record does show Mr. Trump received more than 62 million votes back in 2016.

The odds are pretty good at least a few of those 62M have very deep pockets.

Why not have CML or a few high-level fundraisers reach out to these individuals to see if they'd like to support Coach Leach (and WSU Football) with a financial contribution?

Instead of trying to downplay Coach's political leanings, why not shout it from the mountaintops?

Let the people know what the face of the program thinks politically and why he does so.

This is something that could make Cougar Football unique on the college landscape.

Politics is big, big business.

Why shouldn't the WSU athletic department grab a piece of the action?

Maybe this already being done, I don't know.

Just trying to think outside the box as Wazzu tries to keep pace with the Oregon's, USC's and Stanford's of the world.

GOP_2016_Trump.JPG_t1140.jpg

They appeared on either Brand X or Brand Y last week, but Loyal Coug took the time to share with CougZone regulars Coach Leach's recent remarks praising America's 45th president.

Do I think America is better with Donald Trump? Yeah, I do, and I think it's better by a lot."
— Mike Leach, June 2018

I'm not a political expert by any measure, so I'll leave it to the knowledgeable posters here to judge the accuracy of CML's proclamation.