ADVERTISEMENT

Big Day. Go Cougs

Val limburg, you struggled with com 101? How about Hugh Rundell
One of what I consider my biggest coup in class scheduling is I managed to graduate without taking any COM or SPCOM classes. Don’t recall what I got accepted in lieu of it - didn’t think it would work, but it did.

This reminds me of a story from my WSU days. I graduated in business finance. But I started in architecture. In one class, a 7:45am class, there was a visiting professor from Great Britian one day. He was showing slides of various European buildings. The slides were interesting, but his dialogue was not. A person could inject caffeine directly into their veins and still fall asleep listening to the guy.

So about halfway through class, the professor starts yelling as loud as he could and pounding a wooden pointer stick that he had been using on a desk, breaking the stick. He was shouting wake up, wake up, you are so rude, etc. There were about 10-15 people in the class and after a while of him yelling, I realize he is screaming at me.

I'll admit, with the early class, the lights being off because of him showing slides, and his boring presentation, I was having trouble staying awake. But I was awake. I told him he had no idea what he was talking about, I was not asleep, and he was the one who was rude. I proceeded to correctly name the buildings, in order, of the previous five slides. He said "Oh" and then continued his presentation without apologizing and acted as if nothing had happened.

A few days later, I am in some prerequisite class with about 300 other students, and he happened to be giving his presentation to the class. Sure enough, halfway through he starts yelling and screaming at people for being rude and falling asleep.