ADVERTISEMENT

Where did you live in Pullman? Would you do it differently?

chipdouglas

Hall Of Fame
Mar 16, 2005
I lived in Pullman all 4 years, main campus.

Freshman & Sophomore: Waller Hall. I understand this closed down for a time, but has maybe opened back up? I graduated a long time ago but still keep in touch with a lot of guys, making this a very rare and special time in my life. One of my best memories was working the desk in the office when an elderly African-American gentleman came by who said he was a Waller alum and a veteran (not sure if WWII or Korea, or what the policy even was back then...). I wasn't supposed to let any strangers in but figured it was worth bending the rules to give this guy a blast from the past, which he thoroughly enjoyed. He hadn't been back in decades.

Junior & Senior: off campus in a shared house; on Illinois St between Monroe & B Street. Other than the uphill (workout + seasonal snow/ice), it was a great place to be for access to bars and the restaurants/shops on Grand, not to mention Stadium. Would have been better if my room weren't under the kitchen of girls who wore heels and hosted blowout parties 4x/week.

Like many, I was offered to rush but, when I was in my late teens, wasn't a big drinker (that happened midway through college). No regrets, and the whole experience will remain one of my most memorable in my life.

I lived in Pine Ridge, Providence Court, Emerald Downs, the 4 story condos that over look maple valley, and the C st apartments. C st was the best for location, but had the most fun in Providence court - especially during spring fest/games etc. If I had to do it over again I would maybe consider jointing a fraternity just to get the experience. Otherwise anything C st. Would be my choice.