ADVERTISEMENT

The P12 has a football problem

CougPatrol

Hall Of Fame
Dec 8, 2006
As bitter as yesterday was for WSU, a quick glance around the league reaffirmed what I've been noticing for several years now. The P12 isn't a very conference anymore.

UW loses at home to Montana
WSU to Utah State
Cal to Nevada
Oregon State to Purdue
Arizona to BYU
Stanford to Kansas State

Throughout most of my life (I'm 54), the P12 was always regarded as one one of the stronger conferences from top to bottom. We didn't always have the heavy hitters Nationally, but our 3rd-8th place teams were usually tough. Boy has that changed. It's reached the point where our 3rd - 12th teams aren't any stronger than the top-6 teams in the MWC. Had I said that 10 years ago, I would have been laughed at.

Boise State, Fresno State, San Jose State, Colorado State, Nevada, San Diego State. Tell me you'd feel comfortable betting heavy on WSU, UW, Oregon State, Stanford, Cal, Colorado, Arizona or ASU against any of those programs right now.

When the P12 first signed their big Network deal with the P12 Network, I thought it was going to be the beginning of the end for the smaller programs out West. Hardly. In fact, the gap has actually narrowed. It shows how poorly our conference has been managed and explains why our league can't attract or retain any of the top coaches.

USC and UCLA won. Pretty much offsets everything else.
USC, UCLA, and Oregon are going to carry the torch this season. Oregon's defense looked like another weak P12/MWC defense when their ace DE went out, but Fresno isn't a terrible team either. Utah could also emerge this season.

Apart from that, it's a scrap heap.

As bitter as yesterday was for WSU, a quick glance around the league reaffirmed what I've been noticing for several years now. The P12 isn't a very conference anymore.

WSU to Utah State
Cal to Nevada
Oregon State to Purdue
Arizona to BYU
Stanford to Kansas State